Louisiana Tech University School of Performing Art’s So in Love! Opera Workshop Tickets on Sale Now

Cole Porter

Tickets for Louisiana Tech University School of Performing Art’s Spring Quarter production of So in Love! Opera Workshop are currently on sale. Dr. Lisa Maxedon will direct. Performances are scheduled to run February 9 – 12, 2011 at 7:30 pm in Stone Theatre, located in the Howard Center for the Performing Arts.

The Box Office is open for sales and reservations for groups and individuals, and is located in the lobby of Howard Auditorium; the hours are Monday – Friday, 1:30 – 4:45 pm. The Box Office number is 318-257-3942. Ticket prices are $10 General Admission, $6 for children 14 and under, $5 for seniors, $5 for students (including continuing education) with a valid ID, and $4 for groups of 12 or more.

Just in time for Valentine’s day, So in Love! Opera Workshop is a mixture of Opera and Musical Theatre compiled by Dr. Lisa Maxedon. The first act will be Bastien and Bastienne, Mozart’s first one-act comic opera written when he was only twelve years old. The opera tells the story of Bastienne, a shepherdess who requests the help of Colas, a magical soothsayer, to help her win back her love, Bastien. The second act opens appropriately with “Another Openin’, Another Show” from Cole Porter’s Tony Award winning musical Kiss Me, Kate, the “play within a play” musical that revolves around a theatre troupe performing a musical version of Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew. Other selections are from My Fair Lady (based upon George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion) and Camelot, both by Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe, and The Music Man by Meredith Wilson. The night will end with West Side Story, by Arthur Laurents, Leonard Bernstein, and Stephen Sondheim, the classic tale of love over rivalry based on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

The cast for So in Love! Opera Workshop includes: Stephen Clark, Andrew W. Coker, Elise Endel, Ryan Ferrebee, Katherine Finney, Destiny Garcia, Eric Gilmore, Wesley Henderson, Kate Higgs, Jessica Johnson, Laura McCormick, Marissa McMath, Rachael Anne Pace, Kristen Raborn-Foster, Tracy Reeves, and Kaitlyn Wooley.