ART Around Town: The Masur Museum of Art's Annual Juried Competition

ART Around Town: The Masur Museum of Art's Annual Juried Competition


The Masur Museum of Art’s Annual Juried Competition showcases contemporary artists throughout the United States of America working in any medium. This long running juried competition also showcases some of America’s best curatorial talent. This year 259 artists, representing 40 states and South Korea, entered 721 works of art for consideration by our juror. From that group, juror Joel Parsons selected 62 works of art by 47 artists representing 22 states. Our exhibition will truly give you a sense of best studio practices by artists working all over the country. The members’ reception for the 55th Annual Juried Competition will be Friday, August 24, 5:30-7:30pm. Prizes will also be announced and awarded at that time. The exhibition will still be open to the public during normal museum hours from July 12 – Oct 13. The 55 th Annual Juried Competition is sponsored by CenturyLink. 

The Masur Museum of Art is the largest collecting and exhibiting institution of modern and contemporary art in Northeast Louisiana. We are dedicated to bringing dynamic public programming to our community that emphasizes artists from Louisiana, the Southeast, and around the world. The Masur Museum of Art is a division of the City of Monroe’s Department
of Community Affairs. Exhibitions and educational programs are funded by the Twin City Art Foundation. The Masur Museum’s mission is to provide a quality visual arts experience through temporary exhibitions, educational programs, and collections management for the citizens of Monroe and the community of Northeast Louisiana. Supported in part by an award from the
National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support is provided by a grant from the Louisiana State Arts Council through the National Endowment for the Arts as well as the Louisiana Division of the Arts, the Northeast Louisiana Arts Council, CenturyLink Security Systems, Yellowbook360, and DeltaStyle.

The accompanying image is from artist William Hays, Acadian Moon, 2017, Linocut print. Courtesy of the artist.

About the Juror: Joel Parsons, Director of the Clough- Hanson Gallery at Rhodes College, Memphis, TN

“Great art has the power to captivate us and return us to ourselves, changed. Whether working in two or three dimensions, in established figurative or abstract traditions, or making exciting new space between these binaries, the work selected for this exhibition holds the potential for transformative experiences.” -Joel Parsons, Juror

Joel Parsons is a curator, artist, and teacher based in Memphis, where he is the Director of Clough-Hanson Gallery at Rhodes College and Assistant Professor in the department of Art and Art History. His curatorial practice is often collaborative and driven by a desire to bring institutional resources to bear on conversations of equity and marginality. Recent projects include The Weight of Hope, No Fate But What You Make: Art and Queer Spirituality, Faith Wilding: Fearful Symmetries, and Rashayla Marie Brown: Supreme Being. He is the founder and co-director of Beige, an alternative gallery and performance space devoted to the work of LGBTQ artists. He is the Co-chair of the ArtsMemphis Artist Advisory Council and serves on the board of the UrbanArt Commission. As a Thomas J Watson Fellow in 2007-2008, he studied relational art practices in emerging global art centers. He received an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. His artistic practice centers on queer intimacy, and has been shown at Yale University’s Greene Gallery; Western Exhibitions in Chicago, IL; and the Yerba Buena Art Center Triennial in San Francisco, CA.

Participating Artists

John S. E. Alleyne (LA), David Andree (AR), Elizabeth Arden (PA), Ariel Baldwin (IL), LeeLee Brazeal (TX), Amelia Briggs (TN), Kristen Brown (CA), Jesse Butcher (TN), Susan Chambers (AR), Dean Dablow (LA), Douglas Degges (IL), Michael DeLuca (PA), William Dooley (AL), Leah Drake (SC), Ann Marie Fitzsimmons (NJ), Hang Gao (TX), Mark Gordon (NC), Robert Gordon (AR), William Hays (VT), Joseph Holsapple (LA), Gerard Huber (TX), Jennifer Hunt (SC), Manami Ishimura (TX), Perry Johnson (TN), Kevin Jones (LA), Hannah Kozlowski (WV), Neema Lal (NY), Francine LeClercq (NY), George Lorio (MD), Stacy Medaries (LA), PJ Mills (FL), Charles Mintz (OH), Lacy Mitcham (TN), Daniel Moore (LA), Joshua Newth (MO), Stefan Nodarse (IN), Alan Pocaro (IL), Pam Schmidt (CO), Robert Schwieger (IL), Suzanna Scott (LA), Courtney Sennish (CA), Parker Seward (AL), Ricky Sikes (LA), Juvana Soliven (HI), Corrie Steckelberg (MN), Melissa Wilkinson (AR), Liz Zanca (LA)

From our arts partners at the Masur Museum of Art, located at 1400 South Grand in Monroe. For more information, contact Lindsay Kearney, Curator of Collections and Exhibitions, or Evelyn Stewart, Director, at 318.329.2237